This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Introduce Yourself

Please help us to keep this MyCommunity space up to date and relevant by letting us know who you are, what you do and what you would like to see here?

Thanks

Joanne

• Lots of useful information online

• Viqar Mahmood:
    Hello Beautiful people!

My name is Viqar, I am currently an Electrical and Control Engineer at Howden Compressors in Glasgow, designing turboblower packages. My role provides me with challenging opportunities, varying from Electrical design (P&ID, Panel, JB, Instrument loop diagrams etc), technical documentation, Design reviews, SCADA, PLC, Instrumentation procurement, system build  to Panel and Skid testing.

I have been in this role for almost 3 years and although I  still lack in many ways, I am beginning to love what I do and want to actively pursue professional development! I am currently pursuing my goal of becoming a Chartered Engineer.

Thus, I would be truly grateful to all my experienced peers and colleagues in the same situation, for any advice to guide me on how to develop myself into becoming an expert in this field, gain further qualification and certification and become an active member/volunteer at the IET. One thing I learned n my career so far is that we work in such a vast and ever-changing industry so you can never truly be an "Expert", but I would like to get as close as I can to understanding my field! Of course I would like to be of service to my colleagues in any way I can too and would welcome the opportunity to network and learn from each other. Though I may not know a great deal, I am always keen to learn and believe there is always something valuable to learn from every encounter we make!

I am very pleased to make your acquaintance!

Hi Viqar