Want to post a reply? You'll need to log in
Importance of MSc accreditation for CEng
confused
4 Posts
Question
Hi, I'm in my third year doing a mechanical BEng which is IET/IMechE accredited. I want to apply for the Advanced Mechanical Engineering MSc degree at Imperial, however it is not accredited. I was just wondering how important this is and what effects it would have on the future career/getting chartered?
11 Replies
Andy Millar
1763 Posts
First point, you don't need a Masters at all for CEng, let alone an accredited one. If you do have an accredited Masters then the review panels will look for very slightly less evidence of technical learning in your career when you do apply, but not enough to make it worth getting a Masters / Accredited Masters just for that. It's far, far more important to go for the qualification that you will enjoy the most and that will take you in the right career direction.
Applicants who do not have the recognised qualifications will instead have an individual assessment of their qualifications and any other relevant learning such as:
• formal academic programmes
• in-employment training
• experiential learning
• self-directed learning
And in practice if you have a Masters degree that's going to be a pretty "light touch" assessment. It's the candidates who are at HNC level who tend to have the hardest time, and plenty of them manage to achieve CEng. 

If you search back through this forum you'll see that same message repeated many times (ok, I admit mostly by me!), you might find some useful clarification there.