Want to post a reply? You'll need to log in

Professional Registration as IEng for Canadian Citizens Wishing to Work in UK?

11 Replies

• New Question

Professional Registration as IEng for Canadian Citizens Wishing to Work in UK?

Posted by Leslie T on Jan 6, 2020 5:53 pm

Hello all,

I am reaching out to ask how professional registration in the UK would work for myself as I am interested in moving to the UK after convocation from my program.

Information that may be relevant in this situation is that I am currently studying chemical engineering with concentrations in petroleum and mineral processing at an accredited University in Canada. I am in my 3rd year of study and will be going on a professional engineering internship in May 2020 for 16-months with a company in the oil & gas sector. After this internship I will then return to university and finish my Bachelor of Science in Engineering.

From some of the research I have done online, because my university is accredited by the Canadian Engineering Accreditation Board (CEAB), which follows the Washington Accord, I should meet the requirements there.

I understand that there is no specified amount of work experience that is required, but rather just enough that you are competent in your profession in your field. So will my experience within Canada be valid? Again for experience, would it be possible for me to move to the UK and continue to work a gain more experience so that I may one day get professional registration as an IEng?

Is there anything additional I should be aware of?

Any guidance about how to go about this would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Leslie

Re: Professional Registration as IEng for Canadian Citizens Wishing to Work in UK?

Posted by Alasdair Anderson on Jan 7, 2020 10:01 am