This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Cars, Football & Politics: The Art of Getting Things Done

As a project manager, I am often called upon to implement, improve, or take cost out of operational systems. I hear many opinions about what is important in managing such projects. These include getting the initiation right, e.g. making sure the business case is robust and the desired change can be delivered, or getting a realistic plan created, because failing to plan is planning to fail.

It is no doubt true that the science of project controls is very important and bringing a project in on time, to cost and with the planned outcomes and benefits does not happen without them. However even the best-laid plans can come adrift if people do not do what is required of them at the time it needs to be done. I have heard many times the adage that the most valuable resource of any organisation is its people, but recently I heard a slightly nuanced version of this that struck a chord. The most valuable resources of an organisation are the relationships between its people.

Having great people who do great things, on time does not happen without coordination and facilitation and I see that as my main role as a project manager. Sometimes too even great people need a bit of motivation or need help managing competing priorities. So how do I get the people to do what I want to achieve my project goals, possibly to the detriment of their day job or another project? It is all about having the right relationship with them.