This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Self employed Electrician set up query

Former Community Member
Former Community Member
Hi guys 

I have been a qualified electrician for over 10 years working for others and now im trying to transision into to starting my own electrical installation / maintenance company. I'm a little confused as to what is required before I can legally work in other peoples properties.

I thought I needed 

1. Registration with governing body

2. Liabilty insurance 

I have been looking at becoming a member with the NiCEIC but the confusing part is they want to see my work to assess.

I dont understand How to do this if I need to be a member before I can work in other peoples property? 

I imagine it's really simple but not sure the best route to take 

Thanks in advance for any advice / guidance
  • Hello, Mr Deep. I am sorry to see that you have had no response so far, so maybe I can help a little.

Yes, you will need liability insurance.

It is not essential for a contractor to be a member of a governing body. However, membership of the NICEIC would be a good career target, it would enhance your status as a contractor. Of course they will want to inspect your work. Have you enquired about whether they could inspect work you have already done for people?

Since you have been doing the work for many years, I presume you know the market, potential customers and how you could engage. Some towns have a small business support and start-up centre, which could give assistance, particularly on account keeping. Your Citizens' Advice Bureau or bank could give you some leads. Also look at on-line job sites. Job agencies can be useful too.

My discipline in later career migrated to electronics and IT.