Want to post a reply? You'll need to log in

Encouraging female students to take STEM subjects at A level

5 Replies

• New Question

Encouraging female students to take STEM subjects at A level

Posted by SRVerwey on Jan 19, 2020 8:44 pm

Hi!
I’m Steph and I’m a Sixth Form student who plans to pursue a career in engineering.

As the only (out of about 40 students total) female physics or further maths student in my Sixth Form, I am keen to encourage more GCSE students to take science subjects at A level. Speaking to some of them, a lot of them do not believe they are intelligent enough, even the top students in the class.
I am currently volunteering to help out with science lessons once a week but want to do more.

Does anyone have any ideas about how to encourage more students (particularly female students) to take science subjects at A level?
Thanks for any suggestions!

Re: Encouraging female students to take STEM subjects at A level

Posted by Susan Twelves on Jan 20, 2020 9:21 am

Why don't you contact your local STEM Ambassador Hub and see if they can give you some suggestions. 
They might be able to send some Ambassadors along to talk to the girls.

Posted by SRVerwey on Jan 24, 2020 3:53 pm

Thanks for the response! I’ll see if I can do that.

Posted by Arran Cameron on Jan 26, 2020 2:21 pm

There are times when I wonder whether concerns about the lack of female students taking STEM subjects, as well as initiatives to encourage more to take them, verge on so called positive discrimination or even political correctness.