This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Straw Poll

If you were to receive a letter from the solicitors of a company you were in a dispute with and it contained the following sentence:

"Our client is willing to settle the whole of your claim, as set out in the Claim Form, Particulars of Claim and the Reply (the Claim) on the following terms:

(1) By 4pm on 14th June 2019, pursuant to CPR 38.3. you file at the court and serve a Notice of Discontinuation in respect of the entire claim

(2) Subject to you compliance with paragraph (1), our client will not seek to enforce its automatic entitlement to costs under CPR rule 38.6.  In other word, if you file and serve a Notice of Discontinuation by 4pm on 14 June 2019, you will not have to pay the costs our client has incurred to date in defending this claim.
"

What would you understand it to mean?
  • Hi Rob

As a layman I would interpret that as the company was willing to settle out of court if you withdraw your court action against them by the time and date noted? And if you did withdraw the case by that time and date they would not pursue any court costs incurred by them either? 

I'm not entirely au fait with the workings of courts though... ?
  • They want you to pull out. They are offering to settle, and to not pursue you for their costs.

They are reminding you that if they win, you could also become liable to pay their costs - the other parties solicitors fees, and perhaps incidentals like postage, photocopying, time they took off work to prepare their case etc, as well as all yours of course..

This offer says, if you withdraw, then they promise to pay up, and  not to pursue you for those costs. - this is a bargaining tactic, to make it sound like, decide now, get a better deal.