This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Foundation degree to BEng Top Up

Hello all,

I can imagine this question has been asked various times but I've not been able to find the answer I'm looking for.

Just under two years ago now I completed a foundation degree in electrical electronics, This was done via part time study on a day release. Two years on and I'm in an senior position within my company and can not afford to be out the office for a whole day. 

I really want to top up my foundation degree to a full accredited honours degree but I can not find a course that will do this. I'm happy to study weekends or a night if the university is near (Shropshire, West Midlands) or distance learning. 

Distance learning seems to be the one that best suits my situation but I'm struggling to find somewhere that had decent available contact hours. I'm very much a do'er than a reader, I would rather listen to someone as I take in information much quicker than reading. 

My question is, has anyone been in a similar situation and what have they done/doing about it?

I would prefer not to tell my company that I'm doing this and just get on with it.

Many thanks,

Anthony
  • Hi Anthony 

i completed an FdEng Electrical Power Engineering (Distribution) degree with Aston University, Birmingham 

last year. I was sponsored by my company and this was done by block release over two years.

i have now progressed onto the final year to top up to a BEng(hons) Professional Engineering (Power Systems) degree. This is all distance learning, with attendance for induction, exams and viva only (on various Saturdays during the programme). The programme runs over two years. Again it's sponsored by my work so the module assignments/dissertation will be work based.