Want to post a reply? You'll need to log in
Encouraging female students to take STEM subjects at A level
SRVerwey
3 Posts
Hi!
I’m Steph and I’m a Sixth Form student who plans to pursue a career in engineering.

As the only (out of about 40 students total) female physics or further maths student in my Sixth Form, I am keen to encourage more GCSE students to take science subjects at A level. Speaking to some of them, a lot of them do not believe they are intelligent enough, even the top students in the class.
I am currently volunteering to help out with science lessons once a week but want to do more.

Does anyone have any ideas about how to encourage more students (particularly female students) to take science subjects at A level?
Thanks for any suggestions!
25 Replies
Why don't you contact your local STEM Ambassador Hub and see if they can give you some suggestions. 
They might be able to send some Ambassadors along to talk to the girls.
SRVerwey
3 Posts
Thanks for the response! I’ll see if I can do that.
Arran Cameron
415 Posts
There are times when I wonder whether concerns about the lack of female students taking STEM subjects, as well as initiatives to encourage more to take them, verge on so called positive discrimination or even political correctness.

At my college there were considerable disparities between the types of students taking different A Level subjects. Electronics was extremely male dominated, computing considerably so. At the same time the number of south Asian students studying a European foreign language was next to nothing and only a small handful studied history with most of them proposing to take a degree in law. South Asian students possibly outnumbered white British students in chemistry as many of them proposed to take a degree in medicine or pharmacy whereas English literature, and psychology were almost completely white British and heavily female dominated.