Website service announcement

The online community is now in a ‘read only’ mode whilst we transfer our forum and blog content to their new home in IET EngXTM 

Update: The launch of our new online community IET EngX is taking a little longer than anticipated!

We want to make sure that everything is tidy in the new community  so Engineering Communities will remain in read-only mode until w/c 6th December.

Read our latest blog post for more information. 

Want to post a reply? You'll need to log in  Having trouble logging in? Read our help guide
Question on using fused terminal blocks
Trojan
2 Posts
Question

I'm an industrial electrician with no real domestic experience, although I did get a 17th edition certificate a few years back. I've got a crap 4 inch extractor fan in the bathroom that I want to swap out with a 6" inline fan I have. I have a cooker style switch for my shower on the outside of the room. Is there any reason I can't drop a 1mm cable from the loft and use a fused terminal block at the switch to feed a relay for the fan? Would have the relay in a wiska box or similar in the loft and could label that there are 2 circuits enclosed.

Thanks in advance!

5 Replies
broadgage
1037 Posts

From a strictly electrical point of view, then yes you could connect into the existing heavy current shower circuit by means of a fused terminal block.

From a practical point of view, there might not be room to install this fused terminal block in the box for the shower switch. A better arrangement would be a fused connection unit with a 1 amp fuse, adjacent to the shower switch.

A pedant might argue that you need 1.5mm cable for the circuit as that is now the minimum cable for a “power circuit”

A more common approach is to connect the extract fan to the lighting circuit since this facilitates the provision of both a fixed live and a switched live for a fan with a run on timer. 

mapj1
4444 Posts

Where does the old 4 inch fan get power, and why not re-purpose that ?