This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Inspection & Testing

I am a project manager, constructing new waste water treatment works, for a water company. The contractor building the new works has provided a program which has 4 months between  part 1 (dead testing) and part 2 (live testing) of the NICIEC certification. In between these dates, the contractor will test and commission of the plant and equipment e.g. pumps, actuated valves, instrumentation, screens etc.

Would it be correct to say, this does not comply with the wiring regulations ? 

• Humm. BS 7671 talks about performing I&T before the installation “is put into service” - which might not be entirely clear in your case. I presume the installation isn't really “in service” as such during commissioning (or at least it could be argued).

You might be better looking at it from H&SAW/EAWR point of view - e.g. ensuring the safety of those doing the commissioning (with a presumably fully energised system) before the I&T is complete. Depending on their training and procedures that may or may not be reasonable. I guess in some complex systems it might not be possible to do the final testing until the commissioning has been done, and some will go beyond BS 7671's traditional boundaries so it all can become a bit chicken and egg.

- Andy.

• Former Community Member
    0 Former Community Member

Is the builder basing his program on the client's demands or will the client be content waiting until handover minus say two days to see if the plant performs? Or does part of the works require commissioning and hand over before the rest?

Regards

BOD

• I would agree re. H&S. There will be at least 6 different sub-contractors, commissioning their own plant after dead testing. I would guess the main contractor will not know the personnel involved, their qualifications and experience.