Want to post a reply? You'll need to log in
Partial rewire advice please
Russ 11001215397
Joined 22/05/2020 - 4 Posts
Question
I have wiring in singles in plastic trunking. I want to have accessories flush to the wall and wiring chased in.  After much thought I plan to work on one room, take out singles to the sockets, change singles to T&E using wago connectors and boxes. So the one room would be done but not back as far as the CU. Because I am doing it as a DIY er and I’m not an electrician. The work would be in permitted zones. I’m thinking the wago boxes could be buried behind coving outside the bedroom I’m working on. I understand that any break in the circuit could potentially weaken the overall integrity, however each accessory is a break so will my work be any different than adding in extra sockets for example? Having the wiring chased in would look a lot better and would be safer than it is now. In some places now, the singles are exposed as they enter the sockets. 

I would be very grateful for any advice. Does my plan sound good?
7 Replies
Russ 11001215397
AJJewsbury:
The walls are mostly hollow with cardboard squares and not many wooden batons
That sounds rather like paramount partition board (a.k.a. eggbox walls) - take care with those as both the plasterboard and cardboard are needed to maintain the strength of the partition (as you noticed there's no timber or steel studwork as there would be in a conventional partition wall, just a batten to support each joint) - cutting either horizontal or vertical chases can weaken the whole structure quite significantly.
   - Andy.

Yes this is exactly the wall I have. And I did not know this until now- I was expecting batons at 600mm. If I weaken the wall I plan to add in more structure so that is fine. I'll put some wood in.