Want to post a reply? You'll need to log in
Long outdoor run to sockets from CU
Kevin Cordina 11001215392
Joined 22/05/2020 - 4 Posts
Question
Hi,

I have inherited some wiring that feels a bit odd, but I'm assured is fine, so am interested in opinions if it really is OK. I'm an Electrical Engineer so know the theory, but don't have any wiring qualifications so am vague on actual practice, but am always interested to learn (for interest, not to try and do things myself!).

The situation is this - an outbuilding has a CU fed with a large SWA cable from the house.  A 32A MCB in the CU feeds a 4mm^2 armoured cable which runs outside around 10m to a small brick hut.  At the hut the armoured cable goes into a rotary isolator switch for a swimming pool heat pump, and has a twin & earth spur coming off to 4 x 13A sockets, one of which is used for a water pump. There's no further protection in the hut.

Everything is running fine, but I'm surprised there's not a CU with RCD/MCB in the hut to provide local protection and I'm intrigued if there should be one.

Thanks for any information for my curiosity.

Kevin
12 Replies
Thanks all for the interesting information.  Replying to some of the questions and comments:-

Alcomax‍ no, no-one has assured me it's fine - as per my enquiry it's a system that I inherited with a house purchase and which is operating fine but raised my curiosity, hence wanting to understand the arrangement and whether it's correct.  Based on the suggestions below I'll speak to an electrician to improve things.

AJJewsbury‍ more investigation shows the origin at the house has a 60A fuse in a switch unit as shown in the picture below. The meter feeds the switch/fuse unit and the output SWA runs about 30m to the outbuilding. The photo just about shows the paired wires.

Sparkingchip‍ will speak to an electrician to get it done.

Kevin

Alcomax 11001195572
Joined 01/02/2017 - 171 Posts