ONLINE WEBINAR - The HydroFLEX Hydrogen-powered Train Project 26430
ONLINE WEBINAR - The HydroFLEX Hydrogen-powered Train Project
Approved 5
Event booking is at

HydroFLEX is the pioneering railway project developed by Porterbrook and the University of Birmingham’s Centre for Railway Research and Education (BCRRE). The hydrogen powered train became the UK’s first passenger unit powered by hydrogen, some 9 months after the launch of the project. Since then, the project has gone from strength to strength, with mainline testing completed in September 2020. The team is now looking at how they can develop this technology further for passenger introduction. This talk by Stuart and Ross will cover: why hydrogen is required and the problem it solves; the technical details of the hydrogen fuel cell and how it works in the train to provide the traction power; and how the project was implemented and why Porterbrook are behind this innovation.
Dr Stuart Hillmansen is a Reader in Railway Traction Systems at the Birmingham Centre for Railway Research and Education. He has been investigating the developments of hydrogen as a fuel for railway applications over the last decade, and he is the academic lead of the HydroFLEXproject.
Ross Loades is a Systems Engineer at Porterbrook, providing technical support to several new on-train systems fitted to fleets: Passenger Information Systems; Wheel Slip/Slide Protection; and Ethernet Backbone. Ross also supports innovative projects such as HydroFLEX, a collaborative project between Porterbrook and the University of Birmingham. Ross graduated from Loughborough University with an MEng in Systems Engineering and has previously been employed by SNC-Lavalin/Atkins.

To make a booking please go to :
Date & time
Thursday 20 May 2021 6:30pm BST
End date & time
Thursday 20 May 2021 7:30pm BST
Category Online event

Have a question about this event?

No information available

Want to ask a question about this event?

Log in and post your question in the comments.


Event Map

Date & time: 20/05/21 18:30:00 BST