This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

What's the difference between offsite modular construction and DFMA?

I am curious about the DFMA approach apparently being used in the construction industry. I have more than 30 years experience of DFMA in durable-goods industries and know expertly how it is practiced and applied (and its benefits) in those industries - indeed I run a consulting firm that helps companies get the most out of DFMA. 

I have detected increasing popularity of DFMA in the construction/building industry (or at least, the use of the acronym). Yet my research to date suggests that the 'DFMA' as practiced within the construction sector (such as by the likes of Laing O'Rourke) is no different than the well-established 'offsite modular' construction - or have I missed something?

Simplifying the history somewhat, I am aware that the origins (of the DFMA approach used in construction) essentially lie with prefabricated (aka prefab) construction prompted by the acute post-war shortage of housing, to build low-cost housing through using factory-made panelised wall and floor systems to meet the demand. But 'prefab got a bad reputation due to inherently poor jointing systems, inadequate ventilation in the finished product, and to put it mildly, due to the rather ugly monotonous resulting housing stock.

As 'prefab evolved to overcome its failings, a new moniker was coined to describe an improved approach, building in quality, through additional effort in design and in the factory and in increasing the scope of what was manufactured in the factory from floor and walls to whole sections, spaces, or rooms, - it was called 'modular' construction.