This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

CPD - Planned v Unplanned

Out of curiousity, how much of your CPD is planned, and how much of it is unplanned?

I'm going through my second attempt at gaining CEng, and have been paying particular attention to my CPD Records for the last couple of years, and putting a Plan in place for the next year(s)

However, as a fairly senior engineer, I find it increasingly difficult to put together any form of meaningful plan, and this is reflected in my CPD of the past. Most "development" is now either reactive to business needs, or responsive to invitations to speak at conferences (etc).

I'm finding it difficult to define a plan for my CPD beyond "Achieve CEng" and "Achieve FIET"

Discuss.....
  • I'd say mostly planned but not very far ahead and plans change.  I attend talks, courses and presentations but I might only find out about them a few weeks before.  Similarly the projects I'm assigned might only be decided a few weeks before.  Planning much further ahead is an exercise in futility.
  • Hi Andrew, I usually end up about 60/40.  60% planned.  This is because I have some "fixed" training to do annually for my company, and I have some ideas of personal development.  As per Stephen some is only planned a few weeks in advance as I become aware of some offerings which tie in with my requirements.

Remember, CPD does not have to be about the IET.  It is about YOUR personal development.  so for example one of hte things I am doing is learning French, as I live in a French speaking country - this is necessary for both work and life - not so much for the IET.  But it helps me to achieve further development within my company as well as developing communication skills.