This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Hello, Hydrogen & Anerkennung

Hello IET Germany Network,

I'm new to the IET online communities (first post), currently in Germany working full time in R&D in the Hydrogen industry and I wanted to introduce myself and say hello to everyone in this community.

I came looking for this community because my degree was accredited by the IET (I am not currently a member, but I was a student member hence the connection) and I have been considering working through the process for getting official recognition of my masters degree in Germany through a process called Anerkennung.

This is a formal process which would (hopefully) see my IET accredited degree as officially and legally equivalent to a Masters degree from a German institution. It is also required to work independently as an engineer rather than as an employee of a company doing engineering work. Another benefit is that it grants one the legal right to be introduced as an engineer ("Ingenieur" or "Ingenieurin"), something that would perhaps be nice.

I have been doing some research on the topic and I think I know what's involved, but what I am unsure of is whether it is something worth doing as a British trained engineer working in Germany (and hoping to continue doing so for the foreseeable future). I am also unsure whether it would interfere with possibly working towards chartership in the UK (do you have to work in the UK to qualify for CEng?).

As engineers and members of the IET in Germany, I couldn't think of a better place to ask for opinions on this topic, I hope that's ok. I welcome all and any thoughts on you all have to share.

Thank you for your time and understanding!

Kind regards,

Joe

Munich